A New Breed of Spammers Attack: Desperate Businesses
Lately I've been getting gobs of spam from real businesses. I'm guessing they're all using the same spammer companies because they all say pretty much the same thing: "Thank you for signing up for our friendly newsletter thingy from your business that you like!" Liar pants on fire. I bet the opt-out links don't work.
At first I thought these were ordinary fraud spams, but then I called a few on the old-fashioned telephone and confirmed that yes indeed, they are real live businesses. Some are retail stores. A lot of them are "consultants" of various types, and I wonder how these folks make a living even in boom times because they're selling research, advice, whitepapers, studies, and those sorts of things. OK, so maybe there is a market for them, even if I don't see the point.
One gentleman who actually agreed to discuss the issue with me admitted that he could be spamming, though the "marketing service" he is using claims that their email lists are well-maintained and opt-in only, and nobody will get mad at him. He wouldn't tell me who it is, and even if they're not entirely perfect he is desperate and doesn't care if they do spam a little. My guess is they're 100% spam, but hey, why split hairs.
I have some sympathy for people in his position, and no sympathy for the bottom-feeders who prey on people like him. He's wasting his money and possibly alienating potential customers; the only ones cashing in are the spam company.
Please folks, don't spam. Get a paper route, go pick up returnable cans and bottles, write a sign with a sob story and stake out an on-ramp. Anything is more honorable than spamming, even panhandling.
0 TrackBacks
Listed below are links to blogs that reference this entry: A New Breed of Spammers Attack: Desperate Businesses.
TrackBack URL for this entry: https://swarm.jupitermedia.com/mt-tb.cgi/7961



I have noticed the same thing. A group of criminal companies are actively harvesting mail addresses and spamming these with junk advertisements.
MentalHive is such a criminal company. If you dislike it, call them at +971502893912 and ask why they are breaking the law.
Another such criminal company is Arabian Automobiles, who is known to frequently break the laws of online communications.
I wish we could get a web page where these internet criminals could be published with their names, contact persons, home telephone numbers and pictures. That should probably help...
It's time to FIGHT BACK against SPAM, and have the spammers take their own medicine